Alphabet Book on Psalms

Alphabet Book on the Book of Psalms
By Alison Lehto
Preface: The Book of Psalms has a variety of religious experiences and for the most part is considered a book of praise. Those who wrote the Book of Psalms under the inspiration of the Holy Spirit were David, Asaph, Sons of Korah, Solomon, Ethan, Moses. Psalms is considered Hebrew poetry which is quite different from modern day poetry, but is beautiful as its own genre.
Note: The King James Version is used, but below are some hints on how to read the King James Bible which by many scholars has been said to be the most accurate translations of all of those out there.
thou = you
thee = your
ye = you
saith = says
heareth = hears
(Any word ending in “ith” or “eth”, is just our simple modern day present tense.)

A – ANSWER – “ANSWER me, O Lord, out of the goodness of your love, in your great mercy turn to me.” Psalm 69:13
B – BLESSED – “BLESSED are those whose ways are blameless, who walk according to the law of the Lord.” Psalm 119:1
C – CAUSE – “CAUSE me to hear thy loving kindness in the morning; for in you do I trust; CAUSE me to know the way wherein I should walk; for I lift up my soul unto thee.” Psalm 143:8
D – DEEDS – “I will remember the DEEDS of the Lord; Yes, I will remember your miracles of long ago.” Psalm 77:11
E – EARTH – “The EARTH is the Lord’s and the fullness thereof; the world, and they that dwell therein.” Psalm 24:1
F – FACE – “May God be gracious to us and bless us and make His FACE shine upon us.” Psalm 67:1
G – GOODNESS – “Surely GOODNESS and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life, and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.” Psalm 23:6
H – HEAVENS – “The HEAVENS declare the glory of GOD; and the firmament shows His handiwork.” Psalm 19:1
I – “I will sing to the Lord, for He has been good to me.” Psalm 13:6
J – JOY – “But let all those that put their trust in thee rejoice; let them ever shout for JOY, because thou defendest them; let them also that love thy name be JOYFUL in thee.” Psalm 5:11
K – KINGDOM – “For the KINGDOM is the Lord’s: and He is the governor among the nations.” Psalm 22:28
L – LEAD – “Lead me in thy truth, and teach me: for thou art the God of my salvation; on thee do I wait all the day.” Psalm 25:5
M – MERCIFUL – “Be MERCIFUL unto me, O God, be MERCIFUL unto me: for my soul trusteth in thee: yes, in the shadow of thy wings will I make my refuge, until these calamities be overpast.” Psalm 57:1
N – NAME – “Blessed be he that cometh in the NAME of the Lord: we have blessed you out of the house of the Lord.” Psalm 118:26
O –OPENEST (OPENS) – “Thou OPENEST (OPENS) thine hand, and satisfiest the desire of every living thing.” Psalm 145:16
P – PRAISE – “I will PRAISE thee; for I am fearfully and wonderfully made: marvelous are thy works; and that my soul knoweth right well.” Psalm 139:14
Q – QUIVER – “Happy is the man that hath (has) his QUIVER full of them (children): they shall not be ashamed, but they shall speak with the enemies in the gate.” Psalm 127:5
R – ROCK – “He only is my ROCK and my salvation: He is my defense; I shall not be moved.” Psalm 62:6
S – STILL – “Be STILL and know that I am God: I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth.” Psalm 46:10
T – TROUBLE – “God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in TROUBLE.” Psalm 46:1
U – UNSEARCHABLE – “Great is the Lord and greatly to be praised; and His greatness is UNSEARCHABLE.” Psalm 145:3
V – VALLEY – “Yes, though I walk through the VALLEY of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.” Psalm 23:4
W – WORD – “Thy WORD is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path.” Psalm 119:105
X-Marks the spot in the Book of Psalms in the Old Testament. It comes after the book of Job and before the book of Proverbs.
Y – YE (You) – “Let everything that hath breath praise the Lord. Praise YE the Lord.” Psalm 150:6
Z –end of the Alphabet Book on Psalms. Hopefully, not the end of your reading and enjoying this marvelous book of the Bible.
The Book of Psalms has 150 chapters, 2461 verses, and about 43,743 words. Wow! Praise God for the Book of Psalms!
Please write me with your comments, questions, criticism, and especially for prayer. Thanks. And may “The Lord bless thee and keep thee: the Lord make His face shine upon thee, and be gracious unto thee: the Lord lift up His countenance upon thee, and give thee peace.” Numbers 6:24-26
Yours in Christ,
Alison Lehto
P. O. Box 495
Oakland, ME 04963
e-mail: alisonlehto@roadrunner.com

Leave a Reply

