Alphabet Book on Comfort Verses

Alphabet Book on Comfort Verses from the Bible
By Alison Lehto
Preface: This book is written for those who need comfort from God’s Word. If you have lost a loved one, God is there to comfort you. If you are lonely or depressed, God is there to comfort you. No matter what your problem or situation, God is there to comfort you. How does He do this? His Holy Word, the Bible, is written instruction for us to help us, to comfort us, to teach us, to guide us through this life. May these verses be a great comfort to you is my prayer.
Note: The King James Version is used, but below are some hints on how to read the King James Bible which by many scholars has been said to be the most accurate translations of all of those out there.
thou = you
thee = your
ye = you
saith = says
heareth = hears
(Any word ending in “ith” or “eth”, is just our simple modern day present tense.)

A – ACKNOWLEDGE – “In all thy ways ACKNOWLEDGE Him, and He shall direct thy paths.” Proverbs3:6
B-BE – “Let not your heart BE troubled: ye believe in God, believe also in me. In my Father’s house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again, and receive you unto myself, that where I am, there ye may BE also.” John 14:1-3
C – CARE – “Casting all your CARE upon Him, for He CAREth for you.” I Peter 5:7
D- Dwelleth – “He that DWELLETH in the secret place of the most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty. I will say of the Lord, He is my refuge and my fortress: my God; in Him will I trust.” Psalms 91: 1-2
E – EYE – “EYE hath not seen, nor ear heard, neither have entered into the heart of man, the things which God hath prepared for them that love Him.” I Corinthians 2:9 (Isaiah 64:4)
F – FORSAKE – “For He hath said, I will never leave thee, nor FORSAKE thee.” Hebrews 13:5b
G- GOD – “Fear thou not, for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy GOD: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness.” Isaiah 41:10
H- HONEST – “Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are HONEST, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.” Philippians 4: 8
I – INSTRUCT – “I will INSTRUCT thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go: I will guide thee with mine eye.” Psalms 32:8
J – JESUS – “For I am persuaded, that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come, nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ JESUS our Lord.” Romans 8: 38-39
K- KNOW – “And they that KNOW thy name will put their trust in thee: for thou, Lord, hast not forsaken them that seek thee.” Psalms 9:10
L – LEAVE – “I will not LEAVE you comfortless: I will come to you.” John 14.18
M – MIND – “Thou wilt keep Him in perfect peace, whose MIND is stayed on thee: because He trusteth in thee.” Isaiah 26:3
N – NO – “Jesus saith unto him, ‘I am the way, the truth, and the life: NO man cometh unto the Father, but by me.” John 14:6
O- OWN – “What? Know ye not that your body is the temple of the Holy Ghost which is in you, which ye have of God and ye are not your OWN? For ye are bought with a price: therefore glorify God in your body, and in your spirit, which are God’s.” I Corinthians 6:19-20
P – PEACE – “For God is not the author of confusion, but of PEACE.” I Corinthians 14: 33a
Q – QUICKLY – “He which testifieth these things saith, ‘Surely I come QUICKLY.’ Amen. Even so, come, Lord Jesus.” Revelation 22:20
R – RIGHTEOUS – “Cast thy burden upon the Lord and He shall sustain thee: He shall never suffer the RIGHTEOUS to be moved.” Psalms 55:22
S – STRENGTHEN – “Be of good courage, and He shall STRENGTHEN your heart, all ye that hope in the Lord.” Psalms 31: 24
T – THOUGHTS – “For my THOUGHTS are not your THOUGHTS, neither are your ways my ways, saith the Lord. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my THOUGHTS than your THOUGHTS.” Isaiah 55:8-9
U – UNDERSTANDING – “And the peace of God which passeth all UNDERSTANDING, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:7
V- VICTORY – “O death, where is thy sting? O grave, where is thy VICTORY? The sting of death is sin; and the strength of sin is the law. But thanks be to God, which giveth us the VICTORY through our Lord Jesus Christ.” I Corinthians 15: 55-57
W- WORLD – “Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the WORLD giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.” John 14:27
X- X Marks the place in your Bible where you find God’s comforting Words to console you in your grief, in your moment of despair, or your time of depression. Whatever is going on in your life, God has comforting Words for you. He loves you more than you’ll ever know. “For God so loved the World that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in Him should not perish, but have everlasting life.” John 3:16
Y- YEA – “YEA, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me. Psalms 23:4
Z- Z end of the Alphabet Book on Comfort Verses of the Bible for those who need God’s comfort. We truly all need God’s comfort; some of us may need it more at certain times in our lives than others. May these verses do just that – give you God’s comfort and promises. Always remember, He is there for us and promised to never leave or forsake us no matter what!
Finally, as we are asked to do in God’s Holy Word to comfort one another, please find great comfort and peace of mind in these words from:
I Thessalonians 4: 16-18: “For the Lord himself shall descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of the archangel, and with the trump of God: and the dead in Christ shall rise first: Then we which are alive and remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds, to meet the Lord in the air: and so shall we ever be with the Lord. Wherefore COMFORT one another with these words.” Should this happen soon, we will all be together with Jesus in heaven – all who have believed in Him as Lord and Savior. Amen!
Dear reader,
I sincerely hope and pray that this little Alphabet Book of Comfort Verses from the Bible were just that – a comfort to you in your time of sorrow, need, despair, or hopelessness. Whatever the case may be, turn to God. He wants to comfort you: “Blessed be God, even the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies, and the God of all comfort; Who comforta us in all our tribulation, that we may be able to comfort them which are in any trouble, by the comfort wherewith we ourselves are comforted of God.” II Corinthians 1:3-4 It’s kind of like “Pay It Forward” – when you have gone through trials, and God has comforted you, He has also prepared you to do the same for another. Praise be His Holy Name!
Your friend in Christ,
Alison Lehto
If you have comments or criticisms or would like to reach me, my email is: alisonlehto@roadrunner.com
Address: P.O. Box 495
Oakland, ME 04963

Leave a Reply

